You may have read our first review of the Zona here.

We were allowed to keep the Zona for a longer term usage review. Its been nearly a month we have been using the rear camera system from Zona.

It fits in well you hardly notice its there, until you want to see whats behind you then it comes into its own. With daily use we got about 4 days use from the system before we thought about charging it up. This is based on a two way journey of around 20 miles a day.

Here are the moments I thought

“bloody hell!! Glad I had the Zona”

On a cloudy day I was stationery in traffic waiting for a large truck to do a 3 point turn in front of us. Some kids on Bmx bikes decided to ride out behind me and…

“hand gesture the rev bomb signal”

I clearly saw them in my rear view system and gave them a loud confirmation rev which got smiles all round. I’m not sure I would have seen them in my mirrors, based on where they were standing. I would have seen them with my life saver before moving off but that would have been to late to grant them a loud Rev Bomb.BikersRev

It also seems the Zona can assist to prevent theft too. You may have heard about all the T-Max robberies recently. You can see that article here

I had a slight worry one afternoon when a large scooter pulled up a few car lengths behind me. I noticed two guys on it. This set of a few alarm bells I saw this in the Zona rear view system well in advance of my view mirrors. I was able to position my bike to be in a more dominant position which would allow me to dismount my bike with keys in hand. I think this potentially stopped me getting bike jacked.

Biker Hitch Hikes

The guys on the T-Max made a 3 point turn and went in the opposite direction. They didn’t have a plate so it seems I was lucky this time. I could have been left stranded hitching for a ride home.

I think these two reason are enough to justify having the Zona fitted.

The extra view it gives you is priceless, its just a real shame Zona have asked me to send this back to them. The version I had was a pre release meaning i didn’t get all the bells and whistles but it seems the device is easily upgrade-able via plugging a USB device.

Check them out here and place your order

@Mibandit

 

Leave a Reply

